On October 22, 1925, Mahatma Gandhi published a list in his weekly newspaper Young India. He called it the Seven Social Sins that will destroy all of humanity.

They are:

1. Politics without principles.

2. Wealth without work.

3. Pleasure without conscience.

4. Knowledge without character.

5. Commerce without morality.

6. Science without humanity.

7. Religion without sacrifice.

94 years after, we can see the world gradually moving deeper into an abyss as we have completely embraced the seven social sins as a way of life.

Gandhi was focused on the importance of individuality, love, selflessness and interdependence. As seen in some of his many famous quotes.

The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”

“Gentleness, self-sacrifice and generosity are the exclusive possession of no one’s race and religion.”

“Be the change, you want to see in the world.”

“To give pleasure to a single heart by a single act is better than a thousand heads bowing in prayer.”

Unfortunately, the world views good conscience, integrity and ethics as a stumbling block in amassing wealth and therefore, needs to be shoved aside to get what you want. After all the end justifies the means.

It’s important we go back to the drawing board and find out where we lost ourselves in pursuit of excesses.

The Seven Social Sins is my favourite quote from the Great Mahatma Gandhi and I decided to share it with you.


You can click on the link above to read an elaborate piece on the seven social sins by Dr Stephen R. Covey

6 thoughts on “THE SEVEN SOCIAL SINS”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s